Is one of Israel's most popular foods non-kosher?!

Monday, July 04, 2005 | 
An influential Israeli rabbi has ruled that a key ingredient in hummus is not kosher when prepared by non-Jews. The ruling is a shock because hummus, a spread made of mashed chick peas and sesame paste (tahini), is considered the national food. Hummus is a big business, so restaurants and food companies are checking their processing sources to make sure the sesame paste is not made by Arabs or other non-Jews. But since most Israelis are secular, they're going to continue eating hummus, kosher or not!

Want more news from Israel?
Click Here to sign up for our FREE daily email updates

Current Issue

Get Your Israel Today App Now!

Your Vacation Apartment in Jerusalem


For Information & Reservations:


TEL.: +972-2-6226881

Popular Posts

Israel Builds World‘s Largest Solar Power Tower
It's one of the biggest renewable...