President Herzog Presents Prestigious Wolf Prizes for 2022

Highly prestigious International award is presented each year in Israel to scientists and artists from around the world

By Yossi Aloni | | Topics: Science, Wolf Prize
Israel President Isaac Herzog presents the 2022 Wolf Prize.
Israel President Isaac Herzog presents the 2022 Wolf Prize. Photo: Kobi Gideon/GPO

Israel President Isaac Herzog last week presented the prestigious Wolf Prize for 2022 to a list of laureates at the Presidential Residence in Jerusalem.

The Wolf Prize is awarded annually for unique contributions in the fields of science and art. It has a highly prestigious international reputation, and has since the Wolf Foundation’s founding been awarded to 360 scientists and artists. About a third of the winners have gone on to win a Nobel Prize in areas common to both awards.

The list of this year’s winner:

  • The Wolf Prize in Mathematics was awarded to Prof. George Lustig, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) for his groundbreaking contributions to modern representation theory (abstract algebraic structures) and related fields.
  • The Wolf Prize in Physics was awarded to professors: Anne L’Hullier, Lund University in Sweden; Paul Corkum, University of Ottawa; Ferenc Krausz and Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics and Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich, on pioneering and innovative work in the science of ultrafast lasers and attosecond physics, and high-definition imaging characteristic of the movement of electrons in atoms, molecules and solids.
  • The Wolf Prize in Chemistry was awarded to professors: Bonnie Basler, Princeton University; Caroline Bertucci, Stanford University; Benjamin Cravatt, Scripps Institution – for their constituent contribution to understanding the chemistry of intercellular communication and for inventing chemical methods to study the role of carbohydrates, fats and proteins in these biological processes.
  • The Wolf Prize in Agriculture was awarded to Prof. Pamela Ronald, University of California for her pioneering work in the study of rice resistance to diseases and its tolerance to environmental stress.
  • The Wolf Prize in Architecture was awarded to architects Prof. Elizabeth Diller, DS+R, Princeton University– for her influential and extraordinary work connecting architecture with artistic endeavors, which deals with public space; and Prof. Momoya Kaijima of the Japanese architectural firm Atelier Bow-Wow, Zurich Institute of Technology (ETH) and Prof. Yoshiharu Tsukamoto of Atelier Bow-Wow, Tokyo Institute of Technology (TIT) Japan, for their work in both writing and practice emphasizing the importance of ethnographic characteristics, or studying the world from the standpoint of social relations and residence in architecture.

In addressing the laureates, President Herzog said: “We must take our existing reality not as a given situation that cannot be solved, but as a starting point for the realization of our dreams. Human beings share a universal urge to be masters of their destiny, to push the limits of imagination and to recreate the world in the form of our wishes, for us and for our children. For me, this is the essence of the story of Israel and of the story of our developing world.”

The president concluded by saying: “My friends, I want to thank the Wolf Foundation for its work over the years, for its contribution to Israeli society and of course to congratulate each of the award winners. May we all be drawn from strength and inspiration from your dreams and your labor, and excited to break through the boundaries of our imagination as we work to improve the world.”

Minister of Education and Chairman of the Wolf Foundation, Dr. Yifat Shasha Biton said: “Wolf Prize Day is a festive day for science and art in the State of Israel and around the world. In giving the prize, we salute leaders and breakthroughs, the cutting edge in the fields of science and art, whose work contributes to creating a better world – for all of us.”

Acting Chairman of the Wolf Foundation, Wolf Prize Laureate in Physics and Nobel Prize laureate in chemistry, Prof. Dan Shechtman: “The announcement of the Wolf Prize is a peak moment in a long journey. A journey that lasts for years, a journey that also has quite a few difficulties, disappointments and loneliness. We, the scientists, are judged on our original thinking, on creativity, on ingenuity, but not least on perseverance, determination, dedication, hard work and adherence to the goal.”

Israel Today Newsletter

Daily news

FREE to your inbox

Israel Heute Newsletter

Tägliche Nachrichten

KOSTENLOS in Ihrer Inbox